Swifts hit with bad news on Downing

Stourport Swifts suffered a blow to their plans after hearing that top scorer Jack Downing 18, has been recalled by his parent club AFC Telford United, and his loan will not be renewed. Telford are pushing for promotion from National League North, and currently sit in 4th place in the table.

Manager Quentin Townsend was disappointed to hear the news, and said . “We always knew Jack ‘s loan would be temporary, and he has come on leaps and bounds this season. He is a hot prospect, as his 11 goals in 23 games so far for us shows. He has become a serious threat to defenders, and I am not surprised that Telford have decided not to extend the loan period. We wish him well for the future.” Townsend has turned his attention to seeking out a suitable replacement for the last twelve game of the season.



Swifts lose three in a row

Stourport Swifts 0 Long Eaton United 1  MPL Sat 19th January  Att: 67

Long Eaton snatched a 29th minute goal which proved to be the decider in this match,  and moved above the Swifts in the Premier League table.

Manager Quentin Townsend was forced to make five changes from last weeks defeat, and despite some heavy second half pressure, could not break down a stubborn Long Eaton defence.

In a bright opening spell, Mark Danks twice went close, and MacPherson and Canavan linked up well, but the cross was just too high for Platt to finish at the far post.Danks headed over from Slevin’s free kick after 25 minutes, and Murray just failed to connect after Danks had outpaced Long Eaton defender Mason Rowley.

The visitors took the lead on 29 minutes when a deep cross from Gamblen on the left found Henry Bestwick free on the far post, and the winger made no mistake from five yards out to blast past Zach Jeacock in the Swifts goal.

Swifts pressed hard to get level in the second half, and mark Smith saw his headed bounce off the bar from Slevin’s corner. Chris Conway then had the ball in the Long Eaton net, but was judged offside. United keeper Elliot Taylor then fumbled Canavan’s cross, but Lewis Clarke shot wide from the rebound. Jeacock twice saved well at the feet of Reuben Wiggins-Thomas as Swifts piled forward, then Swifts clearest chance was created by Canavan, who played Joe Billingham in neatly, but Taylor saved well to keep out his goalbound effort.

SWIFTS: Jeacock, Timmins, Smith, Matt Hanson, Platt, Clarke, Slevin, Canavan, Danks, MacPherson, Murray. SUBS USED: Conway, Devlin, Billingham

Swifts are away at Shepshed Dynamo on Saturday, kick off 3.00pm 

 STOURPORT SWIFTS - Club Officials

President : VACANT

Chairman: Pip Hanson 07966 644762

Treasurer: Pip Hanson

Secretary: Graham Haighway  07780 997758 email:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Commercial Manager: Nigel Wager 07912 890997

Press Officer: Ian Johnson 07970 237758  email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Committee Members: Ian Sword, Margaret Sword, Laura McDonald, Brian Hewitt, Tony Lavery, Stuart Adey, Paul Reynolds, Mark Wenham, Claire Beard, Mark Beard

Life Members: Ian Sword,Sylvia McDonald

Team Manager : Quentin Townsend

Assistant Manager: Mark Danks

 Official Club Sponsor

 Worcester Caravan Sales